Houston Ballet Foundation Annual Meeting of The Board of Trustees

<u>MINUTES</u> Monday, May 20th, 2024

Call to order: The Houston Ballet Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees was held in person on Monday, May 20th, 2024, in Houston, Texas. The meeting convened at 4:36 p.m.

QUORUM: Achieved

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Mrs. Kristy J. Bradshaw, Mr. James Cowan, Mrs. Renee Humphrey, Mr. Jesse H. Jones II, Mrs. Kelley S. Lubanko, Mr. Daniel M. McClure, Mrs. Amy Pincu, Mrs. Carroll Robertson Ray , Mrs. Leigh M. Smith, Ms. S. Shawn Stephens, Mrs. Allison Thacker, Mrs. Phoebe Tudor, Mrs. Christine M. Underwood, Mrs. Susan Binney, Mrs. Leslie Blanton, Mrs. Lenni Burke, Mrs. Pamela D. Earthman, Mrs. Jo Furr, Mrs. Marianne Geagea, Mrs. Mignon Gill, Mrs. Nancy Ferguson Haywood, Mrs. Russell C. Joseph, Ms. Natasha Khan, Mr. Ed Koehler, Ms. Amy LeBlanc, Mr. Mark Loveland, Mrs. Kris McGee, Ms. Nancy Powell Moore, Ms. Beth Muecke, Mrs. Patti Murphy, Mrs. Cabrina Owsley, Ms. Monica Radoff, Mr. Kent Schaffer, Ms. Jordan Seff, Mrs. James Shaffer, Ms. Dannika E. Simpson, Dr. Liliana Soltero

GUESTS PRESENT:

Mr. John Abodeely, Mr. Nicholas Baran, Dr. Patrick Benge, Ms. Coco Brennan, Mr. Cecil C. Conner, Jr., Mr. Mitchell George, Ms. Kelly G. Scoggins, Ms. Jennifer Kushner, Ms. Jennifer Laporte, Mrs. Andrea Medina, Ms. Lisa Meeks, Ms. Sharon Roark, Mrs. Sandra Timnick Reynolds, Mr. Kent Reynolds, Mrs. Margaret Vaughan Cox, Mr. France Florio, Mrs. Teal Reamer

STAFF PRESENT: Ermanno Florio, Kelli Gilson, Julie Kent, Rachel Koenig, Paige Kutschall, Angie Lane, Angela Lee, Jim Nelson, Stanton Welch AM

Mrs. Kristy Bradshaw welcomed everyone and called to order the Annual Meeting of the Board of Members.

With a quorum present, Mrs. Bradshaw invited Mrs. Leigh Smith to introduce the new Trustee candidates for the Class 2024-2027. The candidates presented included: Mr. Nicholas Baran, Dr. Patrick Benge, Mr. Michael Collins, Mrs. Twana Griffith-Faykus, Mrs. Jennifer Laporte, Ms. Judy Lui, Mrs. Andrea Medina, Mrs. Teal Reamer, Ms. Melissa Reihle, Mrs. Margaret Vaugh Cox, Mr. Aaditya Satija, Ms. Michelle Iverson Jeffery and Mrs. Leslie Alston, all of which were unanimously approved.

With no objections, the meeting of the members was adjourned.

Mrs. Kristy Bradshaw called to order the Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees at 4:39 p.m. She then invited Mrs. Leigh Smith to present the slate for the 2024-2025 Executive Committee Officers and Members-at-Large, all of which were unanimously approved.

Following this, Mrs. Smith called for approval of the 2024-2025 slate of Executive Committee Officers and Members-at-Large, all of which were unanimously approved. Mrs. Smith then thanked outgoing Executive Committee members Lynn Wyatt, Shawn Stephens, and Marc Watts for their service, as well as outgoing Guild representatives Renee Humprey – FY24 Guild President, and Leslie Alston – FY24 Guild Treasurer.

Mrs. Smith thanked Mrs. Kristy Bradshaw for her service as President. Mrs. Bradshaw then expressed her gratitude to Mrs. Smith for serving on the Executive Committee and as Chair. She then reflected on her term as President.

Then, Mrs. Bradshaw called for a motion to approve the February 26th, 2024, Full Board Meeting minutes. With a quorum present, the minutes were approved.

Mrs. Bradshaw invited the Vice President of Finance, Mrs. Amy Pincu, to present the recommended FY25 budget to the Board of Trustees. With a quorum present, the financial budget for the Fiscal Year 2024-2025 was approved.

Mrs. Bradshaw thanked Mrs. Pincu and invited Mrs. Renee Humphrey to give the Guild President's Report.

GUILD PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Mrs. Renee Humphrey shared highlights from the Guild activity over the Spring Semester, foreshadowing summer trips and opportunities. She closed her report by sharing the upcoming Guild Executive Committee and inviting any of those interested in joining the Guild to reach out.

SPECIAL EVENT'S REPORT

Mrs. Bradshaw thanked Mrs. Renee Humphrey for her report and congratulated all the 2023-24 Special Event and Nutcracker Market Chairs and Honorees at the top of her Special Events Report.

She then noted upcoming special events, including Onstage Dinner, the 2024 Nutcracker Market, Ballet Ball, and Raising the Barre.

Next, Mrs. Bradshaw invited Mr. Jim Nelson to give the Executive Director's report.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Mr. Nelson thanked everyone for approving the FY25 Budget. He stressed the importance of building the Houston Ballet Endowment to \$200 Million by 2035. He urged those who have not yet made a provision in their estate to support Houston Ballet to consider doing so. Mr. Nelson then reviewed the April financials.

Mr. Jim Nelson then outlined the updated Mission statement. He noted that the change more accurately reflects our work through the Houston Ballet's Education and Community Engagement Programs and is tied to our current Strategic Planning work and stakeholder feedback.

He then thanked everyone for their help in reaching the goal of \$500,000 for the Lauren Anderson Young Dancer Scholarship Fund and recognized Trustee Ed Koehler and Deb Koehler for their generous lead gift in making this possible. The scholarship fund recipients for the 2023-24 school year were Layla Porter, Natalia Scheinson, and Garrett Yut.

Following, Mr. Nelson reviewed the five priorities of the Strategic Plan, particularly the Audience pillar. He and Mrs. Angie Lane discussed how the Houston Ballet team has focused on building the audience of the future through the utilization of new technology to drive marketing efforts, consistent audience feedback surveys conducted, actions taken, and increased donor and subscriber participation experiences.

He then expressed his gratitude to Mrs. Leigh Smith and Mrs. Kristy Bradshaw for their service as Chair and President over the last two seasons. Mr. Nelson then congratulated Mr. Welch on his 20th Season with the Ballet and invited Mr. Stanton Welch and Mrs. Julie Kent to give the Artistic Directors' report.

ARTISTIC DIRECTORS' REPORT

Mrs. Julie Kent and Mr. Stanton Welch shared about upcoming performances for the Company here at the Wortham and at the Kennedy Center. They then announced the HBII promotions and incoming dancers for the 2024-2025 Season.

Afterward, Mr. Welch and Mrs. Kent congratulated principal dancer Melody Mennite for her long and successful career at Houston Ballet and announced her final performance at Four Seasons on June 15.

They then took a moment to honor Ermanno Florio for his tenure as Houston Ballet's Music Director and invited members of the Houston Ballet Orchestra to perform a tribute to him.

Mrs. Bradshaw thanked everyone for coming and invited everyone to join her for the reception in the lobby.

Adjournment: With no further new or old business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:39 p.m.